top of page

MOBILE TOUR GUIDE

THE MOSAICS

IMG_3428.HEIC

The floor and a large part of the walls are covered with marble mosaics in combination with marble slab facings.

This marble comes mainly from Marquise in Boulonnais, 15 km from Wirwignes, but we know through purchase invoices from marble dealers in Boulogne that the abbot obtained marbles from other origins.

The proximity of the quarries allowed Father Lecoutre to obtain marble of different colors and qualities, which he cut and assembled.

 

These mosaics use the so-called “opus sectile” technique, which nowadays is more commonly called marble marquetry. It is a technique which consists of assembling cut marble slabs to create figurative or geometric decorations.

Opus sectile is considered one of the most refined and prestigious marble decoration techniques, both for the materials used (among the rarest and therefore the most expensive marbles) and for the difficulty of production. , because it is necessary to dissect the marble into very thin sheets to shape it with great precision and use the most diverse qualities of the marble, in order to obtain the desired chromatic effects.

It was widely used in Roman antiquity, in the Middle Ages and during the Renaissance, particularly in Baroque decorations in Italy. But very few in the 19th century.

 

We can notably admire a floral carpet in front of the main altar, another in front of the altar of La Chapelle Saint-Quentin and a labyrinth around the 7th station of the Stations of the Cross which reproduces the motif of the labyrinth which existed in the abbey church of Saint-Bertin de Saint-Omer destroyed during the Revolution.

Note that Marquise marble was also used for the Élysée Palace and the Gare Montparnasse in Paris.

bottom of page

top of page

GUIDE DE VISITE MOBILE

LES MOSAÏQUES

IMG_3428.HEIC

Le sol et une grande partie des murs sont recouverts de mosaïques en marbre en association avec des parements de plaques de marbre. 

Ce marbre provient essentiellement de Marquise dans le Boulonnais à 15 km de Wirwignes mais on sait à travers des factures d'achat à des marchants de marbre de Boulogne que l'abbé s'est procuré des marbres d'autres origines.

La proximité des carrières a permis à l’abbé Lecoutre de se fournir en marbre de différentes teintes et qualités qu’il a découpé et assemblé.

 

Ces mosaïques utilisent la technique dite « opus sectile » qu’on appelle plutôt de nos jours marqueterie de marbre. C’est une technique qui consiste à assembler des plaquettes de marbre taillées pour réaliser des décors figuratifs ou géométriques. 
L'opus sectile est considéré comme l’une des techniques de décoration du marbre les plus raffinées et les plus prestigieuses, à la fois pour les matériaux utilisés (parmi les marbres les plus rares et donc les plus chers) et pour la difficulté de réalisation, car il est nécessaire de disséquer le marbre en feuilles très minces pour le façonner avec une grande précision et utiliser les qualités les plus diverses du marbre, afin d'obtenir les effets chromatiques souhaités.
Elle fût très employée dans l’antiquité romaine, au moyen-âge et pendant la Renaissance notamment dans les décors baroques en Italie. Mais très peu au 19e siècle.
 

On peut notamment admirer un tapis floral devant le maître autel, un autre devant l'autel de La Chapelle Saint-Quentin et un labyrinthe autour de la 7ème station du chemin de croix qui reproduit le motif du labyrinthe qui existait dans l'église abbatiale de Saint-Bertin de Saint-Omer détruite pendant la Révolution.

A noter que le marbre de Marquise fut aussi utilisé pour le Palais de l'Élysée et la Gare Montparnasse à Paris.

bottom of page