top of page

MOBILE TOUR GUIDE

CHAPEL OF THE SACRED HEART OF JESUS

F1B79D55-7A82-4792-9E9D-9DE724BB0D3F_edited.jpg

The marble altar was sculpted by Abbé Lecoutre like all the chapel altars.

The base is divided into 3 parts by 4 columns. Each part looks like a chapel and contains stones brought back by the abbot from his trip to Jerusalem. The place of origin or reference of these stones is engraved in Latin: the left one is marked St John the Baptist, the middle one Saint Sepulcher and the right one Mont des Oliviers.

The upper part of the altar is decorated with bas reliefs:

  • in the center the paschal lamb,

  • on the left the birth of Jesus under the star of Bethlehem in the stable framed by the sacred heart with the cross and the crown of thorns on one side and on the other the cross with the pole carrying the vinegar sponge , the spear having pierced his side and the chalice having collected his blood,

  • on the right the entombment of Jesus framed by Jesus on the cross on one side and on the other the cross with a ladder and the pole carrying the vinegar sponge.

On the left wall there is a bas-relief depicting the chalice with wheat and grapes giving the bread and wine of the Eucharist.

On the right wall carved in Gothic letters the 11 promises made by Jesus to Saint Margaret.

In the cul-de-lamp on the ceiling are the words Jesus and Mercy.

The stained glass window of this chapel bears the name of their donor, Jean-Claude Lecoutre, eldest brother of the abbot and represents scenes from the life and passion of Jesus surmounted by a scene of the adoration of the Sacred Heart. It is surrounded by red painted representations of the Sacred Heart.

bottom of page

top of page

GUIDE DE VISITE MOBILE

CHAPELLE DU SACRÉ COEUR DE JÉSUS

F1B79D55-7A82-4792-9E9D-9DE724BB0D3F_edited.jpg

L’autel en marbre a été sculpté par l’abbé Lecoutre comme tous les autels des chapelles. 

La base est divisée en 3 parties par 4 colonnes. Chaque partie se présente comme une chapelle et contient des pierres rapportées par l’abbé de son voyage à Jérusalem. Le lieu d’origine ou référence de ces pierre est gravé en latin : celle de gauche est marquée St Jean-Baptiste, celle du milieu Saint Sépulcre et celle de droite Mont des Oliviers.

La partie supérieure de l’autel est ornée de bas reliefs :

  • au centre l’agneau pascal, 

  • à gauche la naissance de Jésus sous l’étoile de Bethléem dans l’étable encadrée par le sacré cœur avec la croix et la couronne d’épine d’un côté et de l’autre la croix avec la perche portant l’éponge de vinaigre, la lance ayant percé son flanc et le calice ayant recueilli son sang,

  • à droite la mise au tombeau de Jésus encadrée de Jésus sur la croix d’un côté et de l’autre la croix avec une échelle et la perche portant l’éponge de vinaigre.

Sur le mur de gauche on trouve un bas-relief figurant le calice avec le blé et le raisin donnant le pain et le vin de l’eucharistie.

Sur le mur de droite sculptées en lettres gothiques les 11 promesses faites par Jésus à Sainte Marguerite.

En cul-de-lampe au plafond sont inscrits les mots Jésus et Pitié.

Le vitrail de cette chapelle porte le nom de leur donateur, Jean-Claude Lecoutre, frère ainé de l’abbé et représente des scènes de la vie et de la passion de Jésus surmonté d’une scène de l’adoration du sacré cœur. Il est entouré de représentations peintes en rouge du sacré cœur.

bottom of page